Defra Office Locations And Headquarters

The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) is the UK government department responsible for protecting and safeguarding the environment, food, and rural economies. The department is also known as Defra, or sometimes by its acronym DEFRA. It is responsible for a wide range of policy areas including agriculture, fisheries, food security, wildlife, and the environment. DEFRA is also responsible for the government’s spending on health and social protection. This includes spending on programs providing benefits to people with disabilities, older people, and the unemployed. let us know about that the Defra Office Locations And Headquarters.

Defra Office Locations And Headquarters

The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs is based in 28 locations across the UK, across different climate zones: five in the South East, two in Yorkshire, and one each in the North West, West Midlands, and Midlands. It is the second-largest after the Department for International Development, and with significant responsibility for protecting the countryside and environment. 

The department is headquartered in London. Its main building is called the Tower of London. The department has other offices around the country. The department also has regional offices in Birmingham, Bristol, Canterbury, Cardiff, Carlisle, Gloucester, Huddersfield, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham, Peterborough, Sheffield, Sunderland, and Warrington. 

Defra has 98 offices in 62 English towns and cities. The offices are located in the UK’s biggest towns and cities and are run from the main head office in London. 

Some Defra offices are

  1. Aberdeen – Scottish Government 
  2. Bath – Bath University
  3. Birmingham – University of Birmingham
  4. Bournemouth – University of Bournemouth
  5. Brighton – University of Sussex
  6. Cambridge – University of Cambridge
  7. Cardiff – Cardiff University
  8. Canterbury – University of Kent
  9. Cardiff – University of Wales, Trinity College
  10. Dundee – University of Dundee
  11. Edinburgh – University of Edinburgh
  12. Exeter – University of Exeter
  13. Glasgow – University of Glasgow
  14. Hastings – University of Sussex
  15. Hull – Hull City Council

What does DEFRA do?

DEFRA is responsible for national framework on the environment, which sets policy and strategy for protecting the environment in England and Wales. Its work covers all aspects of protecting and improving the natural environment: from farming and ranching to biodiversity and wildlife, and from forestry to water management. It also plays a key role in the government’s work to deliver the high-quality environment ministers and policymakers want, including climate change, the environment, biodiversity conservation, climate mitigation, environmental justice, sustainable development, waste management, air quality, and energy efficiency.

Programs and campaigns

The Department for Environment, Food, and Rural Affairs came up with a program, The Flood and Coastal Erosion Risk Management Research and Development Program. It will help us to understand and manage the risks posed by flooding and coastal erosion so that we can protect our homes, communities, and the environment. It will support research into the causes of coastal erosion and flooding and help us to design and manage infrastructure to reduce the risks. 

This program will complement and build on the work of other government departments, such as the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, and the Department for the Economy. The primary purpose of the office is to ensure the safety and security use of nuclear power and nuclear weapons as part of our energy mix, alongside other energy sources, for the benefit of the people.

Farming and livestock

DEFRA manages the animal husbandry. It works with farmers to make sure that controlled livestock practices are used and that animal welfare is a key consideration. DEFRA funds a wide range of work to help farmers manage their land more sustainably, to improve animal welfare, and to reduce the negative impact of farming on the environment. The Agency also works to protect wild species and their habitats, control pests and protect our countryside and countryside communities from environmental harm, and help farmers and landowners across the country learn about and manage the environment, including on their land. The Department has a range of responsibilities for the protection of the environment, animal welfare, the promotion of animal husbandry, and the enforcement of animal welfare laws. It also helps farmers manage their livestock so that they produce the best quality product for their benefit.


The DEFRA Group is a division of the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA). It manages the Department’s work on public environmental concerns, including wildlife protection, farming, and farming or animal husbandry. DEFRA has a group of 29 offices located in major cities across Great Britain and around the world. Located in areas where wildlife and farmland are abundant, DEFRA offices represent the third most biodiverse location on the planet, after the Amazon rainforest and the African savannah. 

Frequently asked questions 

  1. What is DEFRA responsible for? 

Answer: – The department is responsible for protecting the nation’s public health and safety, the environment, and natural resources. The department also works to improve the living and working conditions of animals, plants, and fungi. This includes enforcing animal and plant health and safety laws and regulations, protecting the country’s biosecurity, and improving the quality of antimicrobial products. 

  1. Who is the head of DEFRA? 

Answer: – The head of DEFRA is the Rt Hon George Eustice MP. He is responsible for leading the department. The department is made up of multiple agencies, including the Biosecurity and Border Inspection Agency, the Biosecurity and Antimicrobial Stewardship Agency, the Animal and Plant Health Agency, the Countryside Agency, the Countryside Council for England, the Environment Agency, the Food Standards Agency, the Forestry Commission, the Food and Environment Agency, the Gambling Commission, the Health and Safety Executive, the Intellectual Property Office, the Natural Environmental Research Council, the National Archives, the Nuclear Regulatory Authority, the Office of Communications, the Office of the Nuclear Inspector, the Office.

  1. How do I complain to DEFRA? 

Answer: – If you have a question or complaint about the services provided by a department, you can generally complain to the department responsible for the problem. For example, if you are unhappy with the service provided by the Countryside Agency, you can complain to the Countryside Agency.

Defra Office Locations And Headquarters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top